top of page

EDID6506: Issues, Trends, Innovations and Research in Instructional Design, Instructional Technology

This was the sixth of eleven(11) core courses i undertook in the MSc in Instructional Design and Technology. During this course we explored, Texting and literacy, Issues and Challenges in Teaching and Learning with Technology, promoting and encouraging innovation in education, the notion that a teacher must be present for learning to occur and Media vs Method. We got to review many simulations/games. We also examined future directions in Instructional Technology and Distance Education and got to create a research paper on an emerging trend or issue,’ MOOC’s FutureLearn’. We investigated different CSCLs [Computer-supported collaborative learning] and then got to choose one/two to create a brief learning unit that can be used in our environment ‘PBworks, QuizStar’. I got to creat a website using Weebly. I also got to create a VOKI and personalize it with my own voice. We got to design a Project Prospectus; ‘the proposed project seeks to design and/or implement a methodology for using information and communication technologies (ICT) to support and enhance learning in primary and secondary schools in Barbados, Jamaica, St. Lucia and Trinidad’. Finally I got to create a futurist report in my field of Instructional Design and Technology, for which I also got to use Moyea to convert my Power Point Presentation to a video to export to YouTube

This course was a wonderful combination of learning and doing, it was fun but challenging, very collaborative in every aspect and also very eye opening. I enjoyed working with my team to complete my assignments. Some of the challenges of this course ranged from difficulties with the net in each of our countries, competing work schedules, the timeframe to get feedback from persons on our innovations. I enjoyed learning to use the new programs and further exploring some of those I was introduced to in previous courses. The assignment i enjoyed the most was creating my own website using Weebly' and being able t transfer that new knowledge /skill to my school.

One artefact that displays as evidence of my experience is


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page