top of page

EDID6501: Learning Theory and Instructional Design

This was the first of eleven (11) core courses I undertook in the MSc in Instructional Design and Technology. This course allowed me to explore the question, Do Learning theories influence instructional design? We explored each of the major theories, and how to go about implementing them. We identified things we do in the classroom/ workplace that are influenced by the different theorist. We learnt to present evidence of how the theories can be used to design instruction. The course also allowed me to explore the theories of motivation, Meaningful Learning and Schema Theory through the lenses of the different theories and Gagné's Influence on Instructional Design Theorists. The main thing I learnt in this course was that the theoretical concepts of behaviorism, the modern cognitive theories, constructivism, developmental learning and instructional theories all serve as a conceptual framework for instructional design.

This being one of my first two courses at this level, it was a bit overwhelming, by the end of this first pair of courses, I know that my classmates and my successes are dependent on each other. I learnt that I have to get better at time management. As a future Instructional Designers I believe that it is important that we are informed about the different theories, the theorists who propose them and the implications they have on instruction. Mergel (1998) stresses, designers must understand the strengths and weaknesses of each learning theory to optimize their use in appropriate instructional design strategies. Therefore I believe this was the right course to start us off.

One artefact that displays as evidence of my experience is:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page